Skip to content

News flash: Religion reporters also write books

June 9, 2009

Cathy Lynn Grossman, veteran religion writer for USA Today, provides us with an interesting roundup of religion reporters turned authors. These journalists share their personal journeys in books that range from the search for grace to the loss of faith. 

The book I find most intriguing of the bunch is William Lobdell’s Losing My Religion: How I Lost My Faith Reporting on Religion in America — and Found Unexpected Peace. I first learned about Lobdell’s experience as a religion reporter in this LA Times piece he wrote. (If you don’t get a chance to pick up the book, be sure to read the article. It’s a very moving account.) And while I’m at it, here’s Lobdell’s blog.  OK, Bill, check’s in the mail, right?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 10, 2009 8:15 pm

    So when can I buy your book???

    I’ve never read Mr. Lobdell’s story. Now I’m interested, and I’m reading his blog. I particularly find one of his last statements about the “gift of faith” he, as someone who is not a Christian, think gives that gift of faith to people?

    • eeflynn permalink*
      June 10, 2009 8:24 pm

      My book? Oh right, yeah, um, I’m working on it.

      Interesting point about Lobdell’s reference to the gift of faith. You’re a smart girl, Melissa!

      And by the way, i think I gained 5 pounds just looking at your blog. Yummm.

  2. June 11, 2009 7:31 pm

    wow, i just read my comment and i’m not sure what happened to the English language at the end there. glad you were able to understand it, and some how conclude that i am smart. hahaha.

Leave a Reply

