Skip to content

The rapture’s coming; can you feed my cats?

June 11, 2009

So a former student from my Journalism and Religion class (which it looks like I’ll be teaching again this fall) sent me a link to a funny Web site called The Post-Rapture Post: the Postal Service of the Saved.

Do you know someone who is in danger of being “left behind” because of a sinful life? Imagine if you could write a letter to a friend or loved one after the Great Day of Reckoning. Maybe a message to your family telling them to trust in God, and that everything will be okay. Perhaps you would leave instructions to care for your pets after your departure. It could be that your message is the light that opens a sinner’s eyes to the Glory of God and allows them entrance to Heaven during the trials before the Second Coming. This is where the Post-Rapture Post comes in. 

Hey, I’m actually not trying to make fun of people’s eschatology (how’s THAT for a fancy word?). I had a student in class this past semester who talked about the end times non-stop. It’s fascinating stuff. 

Coincidentally, tonight’s episode of Law & Order  (can someone please put that series out of its misery already?) dealt with the murder of an end times believer. One man being questioned about frantic phone messages he left on the victim’s cell phone explained:

“I was scared at first. I thought I had been left behind. But I looked out my window and everything looked normal. There was nothing on the news.”

I know how he feels.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 11, 2009 7:35 pm

    I LOVE eschatology. My first religious studies course was on the Book of Revelation. Also, if you have some spare time check this out:

    http://www.thisamericanlife.org/Radio_Episode.aspx?sched=761

    It’s an old This American Life episode about the Left Behind books, Orthodox Jews, Waco and the Branch Davidians, and some ladies who calculate the last day every few years.

  2. eeflynn permalink*
    June 11, 2009 7:41 pm

    Awesome! Can’t wait to hear it. Thanks for the link! I so love This American Life.

Leave a Reply

