Skip to content

Philip Jenkins lends insight on Episcopal Church’s liberalism, place in the world

July 17, 2009

Speak of the devil …. I had just invoked the brilliance of Penn State prof Philip Jenkins my post on the Episcopal Church’s new language about ordaining openly gay men and women and then found this column he wrote in the Wall Street Journal today about ECUSA, the worldwide Anglican Communion and that dreaded word schism

The presiding bishop of the mainstream Episcopal grouping, Katherine Jefferts Schori, predictably condemns ACNA, protesting that “schism is not a Christian act.” But it is not wholly clear who is seceding from whom. In approving gay bishops, ECUSA is defying the global Anglican Communion, which had begged Americans not to take a move that could provoke believers in other parts of the world. The Anglican Communion, though noticeably “progressive” in its American and British forms, is a world-wide church of 80 million. Indeed, the majority of Anglicans today live in African and Asian countries where progressive views are not so eagerly embraced. For American conservatives, it is Bishop Jefferts Schori’s church that has seceded from global Anglicanism.

This column is definitely worth using in my Journalism and Religion class this fall.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2009 1:58 pm

    Eileen, thank you for the wonderful article about Keith Miller in the Austin American-Stateman. As a longtime fan and friend of Keith’s, I had to respond with a personal thanks on my blog. I would have sent you an e-mail, but blog is all I could find.

    I’m glad to have been directed to your blog, as well. My heart breaks at the divisions within the church today. My hope is that the current state of things will give room for lots of God’s redemptive work. My experience with Keith Miller is that that is what he’s been about for a very long time.

    Thanks for your good work! Jeanie Miley

  2. eeflynn permalink*
    July 20, 2009 2:42 pm

    Thanks, Jeanie! I am so glad to hear you enjoyed the column on Keith. I really appreciate the feedback.
    –Eileen

Leave a Reply

