Skip to content

Under the burden of sin: Author poses questions about God, life

August 1, 2009

Robert Wright, the author of what looks to be a fascinating book called The Evolution of God, asks these provocative questions in a NYT piece:

If I no longer believe in a personal God, looking down and judging me, why do I still feel guilt over my wrongdoings and shortcomings? Why do I still want some father figure (a God, ideally, though a resurrected version of my dad would do) to pat me on the shoulder and tell me I’ve done O.K. and can now go play golf for a millennium or so? Is godlessness not, in fact, as some born-again atheists seem to promise, a path to happiness? And, anyway, where did this need for forgiveness and affirmation come from?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

