Skip to content

Ted Kennedy’s Catholicism and the time he drew the ire of my old priest

August 27, 2009

Since the death of Sen. Edward Kennedy was announced, I’ve been thinking about his loyal supporters back in my home state of Massachusetts. But there were plenty of solidly pro-life Catholic Democrats who found his views on abortion hard to stomach. One of those Catholics was a priest in my home parish in North Adams, Mass. — St. Francis of Assisi. His name was Father Scott. I knew him in his twilight years. He was sweet and warm and kind. All the kids adored him. After he died, I heard a surprising anecdote. During a visit to North Adams, Kennedy was hailed as a hero. But not by Fr. Scott. The old priest followed the senator around town, haranguing him to reverse his position on abortion.

So I was interested in reading something about Kennedy’s Catholicism, and I found this Q&A Dal Gilgoff did with a Kennedy biographer in U.S. News and World Report.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

