Skip to content

Tiger says he also strayed from Buddhist teachings

February 19, 2010
tags:

… that is, in addition to straying from his wife. In his public apology today, golf star (boy that sounds funny) Tiger Woods said his numerous infidelities were a betrayal not only of his family but of the Buddhist beliefs with which he was raised. He said:

I have a lot of work to do, and I intend to dedicate myself to doing it. Part of following this path for me is Buddhism, which my mother taught me at a young age. People probably don’t realize it, but I was raised a Buddhist, and I actively practiced my faith from childhood until I drifted away from it in recent years. Buddhism teaches that a craving for things outside ourselves causes an unhappy and pointless search for security. It teaches me to stop following every impulse and to learn restraint. Obviously, I lost track of what I was taught.

For some insight on what this means, check out this post on One City, a Buddhist blog.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

